UN to announce new country carved out of Nigeria

The United Nations (UN) will announce the creation of a new country carved out from Nigeria and Cameroon.

The new country, which will be created on July 10, 2020, will be called the United Nations Organisation (UNO) State of Cameroon.

This was disclosed in a letter of the UNO State of Cameroon to Prof Martins Chia Ateh, the United Nations-appointed workshops coordinator in Cameroon and Nigeria.

The creation of the new country will see Nigeria losing 24 local government areas: Borno (five), Adamawa (12) and Taraba (seven).

It will have a total landmass of 28, 214 square km with an estimated population of 20 million people.


What happened

According to the BBC, it all started in 1919 after the end of World War 1 when Germany was still in control of ‘Kamerun’.

After the war which saw French, British and Belgian forces conquering the Germans, they divided the country between France and Britain.

They gave Eastern Cameroon (the present Cameroon that speaks French) to France and Western Cameroon (the English speaking side) to Britain.

The two areas would later be designated as a UN trust territory.

British government administered its area within the government of Nigeria as Northern and Southern Cameroon although they didn’t join it to Nigeria.

In January 1960, French Cameroon got independence from France, declared itself the Republic of Cameroon. Nigeria got independence too on October 1 the same year.

A referendum was conducted so that the people of British Cameroon would vote where they wanted to go – Cameroon or Nigeria.

While the people in Northern British Cameroon said they would remain in Nigeria, the people of Southern British Cameroon said they would join the Republic of Cameroon.

But when British Southern Cameroon joined the Republic of Cameroon which was colonised by France, things didn’t work as they had thought.

They now feel marginalised in the country, say they are not represented in government and are suffering discrimination. Hence, their quest to secede from the Republic of Cameroon.

Obasanjo, Biya ceded territories in 2003

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo and President Paul Biya of Cameroon had signed documents to cede their disputed territories (Northern and Southern Cameroons) to the proposed UNO new country.

The two leaders were invited by the then UN Secretary-General late Kofi Annan and they signed the documents in March 2003.

The UN, according to recent reports, pledged to actualise the new state on July 10, 2020.

According to Prof Ateh, the councils to be ceded to UNO State of Cameroon, include Bama, Gwoza, Ngala, Kala/Balge, Dikwa.

Others include Madagali, Michika, Mubi North, Mubi South, Mayo/Belwa, Toungo, Ganye, Serti, Hong, Jada, Maiha and Jada councils.

Withdrawal of Troops

The Guardian reports that the withdrawal of troops by President Biya from the southern part of the planned UNO State of Cameroon has set the stage for the creation of the new state.

The president has finally obeyed an order given by the United States to Cameroon to withdraw its troops from the southern part of UNO State of Cameroon.

Residents of that part were excited over the merger of their land with Northern Cameroon in Nigeria.

The Southern Cameroon residents have since last year during their agitations to secede tagged the UNO State of Cameroon as “Ambazonia.”

On UN’s creation of a new country in Africa, Ateh wrote: “I should be getting back to you once the United Nations finishes with an official announcement on the existence of UNO State of Cameroon to the international community.”

The UN, according to recent reports, pledged to actualise the new state on July 10, 2020.

Meanwhile, the Secretary-General of UN, Antonio Guterres has begun the process of sensitisation towards the July 10 date of creating the new state for the English speaking side of Cameroon.

Post a comment